Strike ballots open at another 24 universities

UCU members at 24 universities are to be balloted for strike action in the New Year.

The ballots at Bath Spa, Birkbeck, Canterbury Christ Church, Cardiff Metropolitan, Central Lancashire, Coventry, De Montfort, East London, Greenwich, Huddersfield, Keele, King’s College London, LSE, Manchester Metropolitan, Newman, Nottingham Trent, Oxford, Oxford Brookes, Royal College of Art, Royal Veterinary College, Salford, Senate House, Swansea and Winchester will open on January 7.

These are in addition to the 12 re-ballots taking place at Imperial College London, Kent, Leeds Beckett, Leeds Trinity, SOAS, Worcester, East Anglia, Arts London, West of Scotland, Falmouth, Northumbria and Surrey. Both ballots will close on January 28.

The union has warned that if the disputes cannot be resolved then more strikes are likely in 2020, with more members eligible to take part and more universities and students affected. The union’s higher education committee is due to meet on January 30 to consider the latest round of results and further plans for industrial action.

UCU general secretary Jo Grady said: “Following sustained strike action at 60 universities this term, ballots will close at another 36 institutions at the end of January.

“This is the time for employers to demonstrate they are serious about wanting to avoid further and even more widespread disruption at our universities.

 “We have been clear from the outset that UCU members are prepared to take serious and sustained action to defend their pay and conditions, as well as their pensions.”

  • Like this story? Please support our work here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *